Feminist mental health blog?

I was thinking maybe I would like to set up a UK group blog focusing on a feminist views of mental health/ feminist reactions to the way mental health is viewed and treated and ways of making things better for those who live with mental health issues. Would anyone be interested in running/contributing to this? I have a few people in mind I might ask but I wanted to do a call out first.

The requirements would be:

you are female

you identify as a feminist

you have now or have had mental health issues and experiences with the mental heath system.

(would appreciate if people linked to this also so lots of people see this)

24 Responses to “Feminist mental health blog?”

  1. I think that sounds like a pretty good idea. I don’t know whether I could contribute much, but it would be interesting to read. x

  2. I am!

    I do!

    I have!

    I haven’t blogged about mental health issues before because I thought no one would be interested, feminist or otherwise. And my blog doesn’t need any LESS traffic as it is. But maybe I was wrong.

  3. Yes, yes, YES. I have had depression for years and am currently being assessed for other mental health issues, namely bipolar disorder/schizophrenia/schizo-affective disorder. I skirt around writing about it on both my feminist blog and my personal blog because I’m never sure how it will be taken. Running/contributing to this would be awesome. I have so much to write on this subject and I’ve just never allowed myself to do it.

    I’d love to be considered for participation, if you’ll have me!

    Anji
    xXx

  4. Hey, might I fit in this one? I’m kind of trailing off the end of treatment for postnatal depression, though that isn’t really what I had. But I’d love to get a chance to talk mental health and feminism.

  5. awesome! would love to have you all! (debs I’m looking for people who are able to contribute regularly, but if you write the ocassional thing I will be more than happy to post it up)

    Kate do you have a wordpress account? because you need to get one otherwise.

    I’ll email those of you who want to contribute/run it hash out the details (or would a yahoo group/private lj group be better to talk to each other about it?)

  6. I could write something on feminism and eating disorders if that would be of interest.

  7. 1/ Yes

    2/Yes

    3/ Sort of…I have periods of depression and am recovering from an eating disorder, but no formal experience as such (save for some rather poor council ling for the ED), though plenty of my friends and acquaintances have. I’d love to add to this blog if I can!

    I apologize if I’m a bit late for it, though.

  8. Rachel Cryer Says:

    Hello,
    I would be very interested in contributing. I am currently working as a Law Tutor at my local University where I am studying for a PhD. The subject matter of my thesis is certainly feminist and concentrates on the treatment and experiences of women in legal education. My primary focus is to give a voice to the small group of women I am working with in pursuance of my study. As the study is locale specific I also research at the intersection between gender and locality/regionality/ethnicity. Moreover, I have suffered with Obsessive Compulsive Disorder all my life. I have managed it very well on my own until recently when my condition deteriorated and I needed help and intervention from the medical profession. My experience with mental health services was not positive and I feel I would have much to write on this subject
    Looking forward to hearing from you
    Many thanks and kind regards
    Rachel xx

  9. I’m not a blogger. But I just wanted to say, if you guys write it, I’ll read it. πŸ™‚

  10. I’d be interested too. I’ve suffered from stress, which spiralled into depression for the last few years. Now I’ve been diagnosed with chronic fatigue syndrome, which isn’t strictly a mental health issue but it has a lot to do with the mind-body connection and most of the therapies available are those used for mental health. e.g. I’m just about to start cognitive behavioural therapy.

  11. Hi there – I’m not a mental health service user, but the whole issue of how people define women as man affects us all. I remember someone quoting a statistic at me that 1 in 4 of us will be affected by these issues in our life….

    … so though I can’t contribute I’d be interested to read.

    Thanks.

  12. Hi, i’ve come over from The F Word. I fit those and would be interested πŸ™‚

  13. Hi, I saw this at The F-Word too, and I think I meet your criteria: I’ve been dealing with severe depression for the past four years. I was in treatment when it started, and will be going back soon, I think.

    I am also autistic, and blog occasionally about how autistic women get overlooked by diagnostic criteria based on observations of only boys.

    Send me an email if you think you can use me; if not, you’ll still have a faithful reader in me.

  14. Hi, I’ve come from The F Word too, might be a little late but i fit all the requirements and would love to contribute.

  15. I’ve just started blogging again after a long break and I’d definitely like to explore this issue (and my own mental health issues) in a feminist context outside of my personal blog. So yes, count me in if you decide to do something!

  16. The requirements would be:

    you are female

    you identify as a feminist

    you have now or have had mental health issues and experiences with the mental heath system.

    Shame about the Y chromosome – I’d have qualified, otherwise.

    Good luck with the blog, anyway. I shall read and probably link.

  17. I’m a 20 year old feminist in the middle of a creative writing degree and I’m currently working on a publication module. I have suffered from depression and been in and out of therapy since I was 11. Email me at 126080@bathspa.ac.uk, I’d love to help out πŸ™‚

  18. Hi, I’ve come from the F Word. I’ve recently started blogging and would love to contribute. I do identify as feminist and have had mental health issues,

  19. I’m all 3! Love to contribute. I’m British and worked in US mental health care so got quite a perspective!

  20. Hi, Im currently writing an article for woman magazine on women who have recovered or are recovering from mental health problems and I am looking for someone to do a phone interview with. If you are interested email me at frankieelliott@hotmail.com
    thanks

  21. I’ve experience of the mental health system (both child/adolescent and adult), found it to be inherently unhelpful, awful, and misogynist, I’m female, live in england, and feminist.

  22. For mental help issue it is better that you need someone who’s expertise covers stress and anger management, parenting, relationships, depression & healing from past traumas. As a therapist, I have a holistic approach to psychological issues.

  23. Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya

    I’m Out! πŸ™‚

  24. Kaizurina Says:

    I am from India and have been doing a lot of reading and a bit of work too on spreading awareness on the need to make psychiatric counselling a ‘woman-centric’ process. Psychological theories and their practices largely remain male-centric, ignoring the socio-cultural realities of women as the source of her mental ailements besides lacking gender sensitivity in problem-solving.

    It would be a great pleasure for me to blog here.

Leave a Reply

